The International Casual Furnishings Assocation (ICFA) celebrated its brightest stars in retailing, manufacturing, sales and design in Chicago during the September 2013 Market. Awards presented included:


The Apollo Awards recognize retail excellence in the sales and marketing of outdoor furnishings. Finalists must demonstrate outstanding accomplishments and commitment to customer service.

Single Store Category Winner
Seasons Four
Lexington, Massachusetts


Multi-Store Category Winner
ABSCO Fireplace & Patio
Birmingham, Alabama

          To view the list of past Apollo
          Award winners, click here.


This award was designed to recognize and honor an outstanding sales representative within the casual furnishings industry. Candidates were selected based on leadership, professionalism, exceptional service, communication skills, knowledge and product training expertise. The winner of the ICFA Sales Representative of the Year Award for 2013:

Justin Pfahl, Pfahl Enterprises, has been actively involved in the outdoor casual business for the last sixteen years after moving from retail into manufacturing with the hope of becoming an outdoor representative. He currently covers the greater part of Florida, Puerto Rico and the Caribbean. His experience in both retail and manufacturing has made him a valuable asset to his dealers and the manufacturers he represents.

To view the list of past Award winners, click here.


One manufacturer was honored in each of 10 categories for the design and quality of their products, along with their merchandising, customer service, ethics, communications and trade relations. Winners were:

Pride Family Brands, Cast Metal
Elaine Smith, Complementary Casual Products
Trans Ocean Import, Outdoor Carpeting/Rugs/Flooring
Summer Classics, Outdoor Lighting
Laneventure, Rattan/Wicker/Woven Materials
Telescope Casual, Resin/Fiberglass
Treasure Garden, Shade Products
Tropitone, Tubular Materials
Jensen Leisure, Wood Casual
O.W. Lee, Wrought Iron/Aluminum

Manufacturer of the Year
From among the 10 category winners listed above, O.W. Lee was selected as "Manufacturer of the Year." Both the category winners and the Manufacturer of the Year were selected in online voting.

To view the list of past Award winners, click here.


The competition recognizes products for their overall design, as well as their marketability, innovation, color, construction and imaginative use of materials. Merchandise Mart Properties, Inc. co-sponsors the awards.

Lillian B. Winchester "Best of Show"
The Lillian B. Winchester "Best of Show" award was selected from among 11 category winners. The winner was Bella Arm Chair by Carsten Astheimer for Gloster Furniture.

Category winners follow:

Chaise Lounge: Telescope Casual Furniture's Bazza Sling Contour Armless Chaise by Bill Vanderminden
Complementary Casual Products: Century Furniture's cocktail table by Pride Sasser.
Dining or Bar Chair: Janus et Cie's Suki-O dining chair by Janice Feldman
Dining or Bar Table: Gloster Furniture's Winchester extending table by Russell Pinch

Fabric: Outdura's Poet Grey by D2
Heating Product or Firepit: Designing Fire Inc.'s Oriflamme Fire Table
Lounge Seating with Cushion: Summer Classics' Sierra Lounge Chair
Lounge Seating without Cushion: Gloster Furniture's Bella Arm Chair by Carsten Astheimer
Outdoor Carpeting, Rug or Flooring: Trans Ocean Imports' Meadows Mauve by Liora Manne
Outdoor Lighting Product: Terra Furniture's Bali Solar Floor Lamp by Gary Stafford
Shade Product: Ningbo Sunrise Outdoor Products' High Class Solar Lighting Cantilever Umbrella by Sunny

To view the list of past Award winners, click here.


The prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award is reserved for individuals who have made exemplary contributions to the casual furniture industry and to their individual communities. The recipient for 2013 is:

Ken Burrows, general manager for Pasadena Patio in Pasadena, Calif., began his career in the outdoor furniture industry as a high school student, lacing woven furniture and grinding frames at Brown Jordan in Pasadena. He worked his way up to national sales manager in 1962 and became general sales manager for all five Brown Jordan furniture divisions in 1969.

In 1972, Burrows and Gary Stafford purchased Terra Furniture in City of Industry, Calif., where Burrows served as president in charge of sales and marketing. During his latter years at Terra, he also served as a sales representative in Southern California for Triconfort and Allibert. In 2010 he turned over his interest in Terra to Stafford, and for the last two years he has been at Pasadena Patio.

Burrows was a member of the ICFA Board of Directors from 2008 to 2009 and was also on the board of the Summer and Casual Furniture Manufacturers Association, including serving as second vice president in 2005-2006 and first vice president in 2006-2007. For the past 40 years, he has been a member of the Pasadena Tournament of Roses Association and was named a life director in 2000. He was elected to the Tournamentís Executive Committee in 1992 and served as the 111th Tournament of Roses Parade and Rose Bowl Game president in 2000.

To view the list of past recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award, click here.

Home   |   Contact Us    |   Resources    |   FAQs   |   Site Map    |   Privacy Policy

International Casual Furnishings Association    |    1912 Eastchester Drive, Suite 100    |    High Point, NC 27265    |    Phone: 336-881-1016    |    Fax: 336-884-5303